ARE YOU CALLED BY GOD OR CALLED BY MEN TO THE PRIESTHOOD?


Have you noticed how many churches and ministries, Pastors, Ministers and Clergy in the Body of Christ are falling apart? This seems to be a growing phenomenon. All kinds of sin and unrighteousness are being uncovered…many times with devastating effects on the ministers involved and the church body.

All the more stunning is how eager the Believers in these churches are to get things resolved quickly and quietly (or swept under the rug), so that they can get back to business as usual.

Pastors and ministers are experiencing burn-out and discouragement at an alarming rate; and as a result many of them are “retiring” or just quitting the ministry. Where, in Scripture did any Fathers of the Faith retire? No, no….this is worldly wisdom. Sadly, the Church too often subscribes to worldly wisdom rather than seeking the counsel of God.
Why is there so much failure in the Modern Church? I believe the answer lies in the fact that many of those who are serving in 5-fold Ministry positions were called by men (maybe even their own selves), not God and others are acting out of their own vain imaginations. As a result, there is no true priestliness.

Don’t get me wrong, many of these men and women have taken on these positions with all sincerity and feel compelled to step into this position, but where is the wisdom in that?

This is very serious and we see the ultimate consequence of these actions in failed ministries and damaged people. I believe that most people who are compelled but not called do so out of a desire to serve God; I believe that they have gifts and talents (i.e. preaching, prophetic, administrative) that are essential to the proper operation of a church or ministry, but that doesn’t mean they are called to be a Pastor, Prophet, Apostle, Teacher or Evangelist.

There is a priestly requirement that every person called by God must meet. The only way to know what the requirement is and to know if you are truly called by God is to “come up” into God’s presence and be there as referenced in:
Exodus 24:12 And the LORD said unto Moses, Come up to me into the mount, and be there: and I will give thee tables of stone, and a law, and commandments which I have written;

Anyone who is called is subject to testing and being tried by fire, for God requires a stripping away of all that the world has instilled in us. It requires great sacrifice, prayer, communing and wrestling with God….that just doesn’t happen all that much anymore.

Whomever God calls….he prepares. I read an excerpt from a book “Apostolic Foundations” written by the late Art Katz. In the chapter on “Priestliness”, Art describes the preparation that Aaron and his sons went through to be made ready for priestly service in the Temple; God used Moses to prepare Aaron and his sons and God spoke every single detail to Moses….which is what God does. He leaves nothing undone.

Sadly, true Priestliness is not in abundance in the Church because too many priests are called by man and not by God. The evidence being this….whoever you spend the most time with, is who you will become like; Ministers of today spend more time communing with and serving their mentors than God….and that’s a fact.
Unfortunately, modern man has taken it upon himself (as usual); to “interpret” the mind of God even though the vast majority of them have never been in the presence of God.

I’ve had men and women of God, speak prophetically into my life on occasion and a couple have even spoken to me that I’m called to Pastoral ministry….but I know for myself that is not true; I know God would have revealed that to me. I will never allow men to call me into a ministry position….only God can do that….and He’ll let me know if that ever happens.

I pray that these words will reach men and women in ministry and they will be convicted to examine themselves to know if the call on their life is by man or God….He will show you!

Glenda Jackson

3 thoughts on “ARE YOU CALLED BY GOD OR CALLED BY MEN TO THE PRIESTHOOD?

  1. Noel Williams

    Cleverly written Minister Glenda. When Christ called His disciples, He approached each one and said “follow me.” He did not ask anybody to tell these gentlemen what He wanted them to do.

    Thanks for sharing.. God bless.

  2. Excellent word Minister Glenda. So, so true! Like you, I have had individuals speak “prophetically” into my life, things that turned out to be untrue. I believe the Lord will place into my Spirit, any calling He has placed upon my life. That calling will be manifested, or someone could possibly speak prophetically into my life, which would be a confirmation of what the Lord had already revealed unto me.

    I am subscribed to your blog, but I never receive e-mails when you post. I was wondering whether or not you are set up to have an e-mail sent to subscribers to your blog, upon posting. I thought you hadn’t posted in a while. I have some catching up to do. 🙂 Take care, and God bless you!

    Paulette

  3. Greetings Paulette:
    I’m glad you got a chance to read this post. I’ll check to see what the problem might be…someone else is also subscribed and not receiving emails.
    Have a blessed day!

Leave a Reply

